Before leaving to study at one of Canada’s universities, it is better to understand the local education system and know what to expect in terms of courses, housing, fees …

The English Canadian system

The Canadian university system is different from the European system, nowadays under the “License-Master-Doctorate” formula. The latter decomposes higher education into 3, 5, and 8 years and imposes on students a learning rhythm that is not always adapted. From this perspective, the advantage of the Canadian system is twofold:

  • On the one hand, its breakdown is more flexible : it is possible to make university courses of very variable duration : 2 years, 3 years, 4 years, 6 years … there are many programs with various objectives that can meet to your expectations.
  • On the other hand, the content of semesters is flexible : you can increase or decrease your workload per semester by choosing more or less subjects to follow.

The second point of divergence between the European training offer and its North American counterpart is the rigidity of the curriculum. Canadian universities highlight the need for a student to “build” his own education. The result is a flexible curriculum, which looks like you, and is, for the most part, à la carte. Indeed, each course is assigned a number of credits, and it is these credits that you will “buy” each semester. Therefore, you can choose the number of courses you want according to the workload that suits you.

You also have the opportunity to study different fields of study within the same degree through a game of major (main field of study) and minor (field of secondary studies). So it is quite possible to do a program in Biology with a minor in philosophy!

The Canadian rating system is also different from the system used in France. Each grade obtained in class is expressed as a percentage (eg 60% instead of 12/20). Each percentage range has a letter A +, A, A-, B +, B, B-, C +, C, C-, D and F. For example, the percentage range corresponding to an A + is 90-100%. The one corresponding to a B is 72-75%. For a course to be validated, you must have an average of C over the entire semester, ie 60-63% (12/20). Although, at first glance, this may scare a foreign student, the goal is perfectly attainable. The average of all the courses of the semester is called the TGPA (Term Grade Point Average), which conditions the GPA (Grade Point Average) – your overall average at the end of your program.

Canadian degrees

  • There are more than 200 post-graduate institutes in Canada. Here is some information to find you in the wide variety of institutions of higher learning.
  • It is important to note here some equivalences with the European LMD system. After 4 years, you will validate a Bachelor Degree, which is the equivalent of the License in France – this implies that you must have validated 4 years of study to be able to go to the next level in Canada. To integrate a Master, you should have already validated an M1.

Colleges

  • Colleges are the first option in Canadian studies. These institutions offer different types of diplomas, often short (1 to 3 years) and professional (comparable to the DUT / BTS) but can also offer Bachelor’s degree (equivalent to the French license).
  • These are often smaller institutions than universities with a higher student / faculty ratio and therefore better monitoring. This is an ideal first option for an international student studying abroad for the first time.
  • Professional degrees validated in colleges can be recognized by universities and it is not uncommon to see students complete their training by validating a Bachelor.

The universities

In North America, the term “university” refers to any institution offering 1st and 3rd cycle diplomas. Most Canadian universities are very specialized: some are recognized for their medical programs, others are better known for their political science programs, and so on.

The campuses of Canadian universities are much larger than the colleges and offer all the necessary amenities (gyms, shops, coffee shop …) These are real small towns!

Entry to Canadian universities may be subject to strong selection. The path of each applicant is studied under the magnifying glass The GPA (your overall average) is very important because it determines your eligibility in certains programmes.

The selection

The selection of students is done on file. The level of English is a determining factor. You will need to take the IELTS or TOEFL before leaving and obtain the marks required by the Canadian university in question. If you feel that your English needs a little help before passing the IELTS, the universities also offer intensive courses in language school, internships after which you will integrate directly a program of studies. We are at your disposal to advise you on English exams.

Your file will include all your results and diplomas obtained since the Baccalaureate (Bac included). You can also add a cover letter, CV, see one or more letters of recommendation. The immigration reference will accompany you to build your file and ensure that it is optimized.

Brice Obam
Deputy Marketing Director
Immigration Reference

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Avant de partir étudier dans l’une des universités canadiennes, mieux vaut bien comprendre le système éducatif local et savoir à quoi vous attendre en termes de cours, logement, frais…

Le système canadien anglophone

Le système universitaire canadien est différent du système européen, aujourd’hui sous la formule « Licence-Master-Doctorat ». Cette dernière décompose les études supérieures en 3, 5, et 8 ans et impose aux étudiants un rythme d’apprentissage qui n’est pas toujours adapté. De ce point de vue, l’avantage que présente le système canadien est double :

  • D’une part, son découpage est plus flexible : il est possible de faire des cursus universitaires de durée très variables : 2 ans, 3 ans, 4 ans, 6 ans … il existe de très nombreux programmes avec des objectifs variés qui pourront répondre à vos attentes.
  • D’autre part, le contenu des semestres est modulable : vous pourrez augmenter ou diminuer votre charge de travail par semestre en choisissant plus ou moins de matières à suivre.

Le deuxième point de divergence entre l’offre de formation européenne et sa contrepartie nord-américaine est la rigidité du cursus. Les universités canadiennes mettent en avant la nécessité pour un étudiant de « construire » sa propre éducation. Le résultat est un cursus flexible, qui vous ressemble, et qui est, pour une grande partie, à la carte. En effet, à chaque cours est assigné un certain nombre de crédits, et ce sont ces crédits que vous « achèterez » chaque semestre. Par conséquent, vous pouvez choisir le nombre de cours que vous voulez en fonction de la charge de travail qui vous convient.

Vous avez également la possibilité d’étudier des domaines d’études différents au sein d’un même diplôme grâce à un jeu de major (domaine d’études principal) et minor (domaine d’études secondaire). Ainsi il est tout à fait envisageable de faire un programme en Biologie avec une minor en philosophie !

Le système de notation canadien est, lui aussi, différent du système utilisé en France. Chaque note obtenue en cours est exprimée en pourcentage (ex : 60% au lieu de 12/20). A chaque fourchette de pourcentage est liée une lettre A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, D et F. Par exemple, la fourchette de pourcentage correspondant à un A+ est 90-100%. Celle correspondant à un B est 72-75%. Pour qu’un cours soit validé, vous devez avoir une moyenne de C sur la totalité du semestre, soit 60-63% (12/20). Bien que, à prime abord, ceci puisse effrayer un étudiant étranger, l’objectif est parfaitement atteignable. La moyenne de tous les cours du semestre s’appelle le TGPA (Term Grade Point Average), qui conditionne le GPA (Grade Point Average) – votre moyenne générale à l’issue de votre programme.

Les diplômes canadiens

  • Il existe plus de 200 instituts de formations post-baccalauréat au Canada. Voici quelques informations pour vous y retrouver dans la grande variété d’établissements d’études supérieures.
  • Il est important de noter ici quelques équivalences avec le système LMD européen. Au bout de 4 ans, vous validerez un Bachelor Degree, qui est l’équivalent de la Licence en France – cela implique que vous devez avoir validé 4 ans d’études pour pouvoir passer au niveau supérieur au Canada. Pour intégrer un Master, il faudrait donc avoir déjà validé un M1.

Les Collèges

  • Les Collèges représentent la première option dans les études au Canada. Ces établissements offrent différents types de diplômes, souvent courts (1 à 3 ans) et professionnels (comparables au DUT / BTS) mais peuvent également proposer des Bachelor’s degree (équivalent de la licence française).
  • Ce sont souvent des établissements plus petits que les universités avec un ratio étudiants / professeurs plus intéressant et donc un meilleur suivi. C’est une première option idéale pour un étudiant international qui part étudier à l’étranger pour la première fois.
  • Les diplômes professionnels validés dans les collèges peuvent être reconnus par les universités et il n’est pas rare de voir des étudiants compléter leur formation en validant un Bachelor.

Les Universités

Le terme université désigne en Amérique du Nord tout établissement délivrant des diplômes de 1er 2ème et 3ème cycle. La plupart des universités canadiennes sont très spécialisées : certaines sont reconnues pour leur programmes en médecine, quand d’autres sont plus connues pour leurs programmes en science politique, etc.

Les Campus des universités canadiennes sont bien plus imposants que les collèges et offrent toutes les commodités nécessaires (salles de sport, magasins, Coffee shop …) Ce sont de véritables petites villes !

L’entrée dans les universités canadiennes peut-être soumise à une forte sélection. Le parcours de chaque postulant est étudié à la loupe Le GPA (votre moyenne générale) est très important, car il détermine votre admissibilité dans certains programmes.

La sélection

La sélection des étudiants se fait sur dossier. Le niveau d’anglais est un critère déterminant. Vous devrez donc passer l’IELTS ou le TOEFL avant votre départ et y obtenir les notes requises par l’université canadienne en question. Si vous sentez que votre anglais a besoin d’un petit coup de pouce avant de passer l’IELTS, les universités proposent également des cours intensifs en école de langue, stages à l’issue desquels vous intégrerez directement un programme d’études. Nous sommes à votre disposition pour vous conseiller sur les examens d’anglais.

Votre dossier comprendra tous vos résultats et diplômes obtenus depuis le Baccalauréat (Bac compris). Vous pourrez également y ajouter une lettre de motivation, un CV, voir une ou plusieurs lettres de recommandation. La référence immigration vous accompagnera pour monter votre dossier et s’assurera qu’il est optimisé.


Brice Obam

Directeur Marketing Adjoint
Immigration la Référence

Leave a comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *